Dr. Hans Ekkehard Plesser

Associate Professor in Informatics
Faculty of Science and Technology
Norwegian University of Life Sciences

Mail PO Box 5003, N-1432 Ås            President, NEST Initiative
Office TF kvartalet, Drøbakveien 31, Room 327B Chairman, Norwegian Research School in Neuroscience
Phone +47 67231560 Member of the Stakeholder Board, Human Brain Project
Email hans.ekkehard.plesser@nmbu.no Visiting Scientist, INM-6, Jülich Research Centre
Profiles Github, Loop, Google Scholar

Photo of H E Plesser


19.12.2017 NEST Conference 2017 at Haus Overbach Barmen, Germany
18.12.2017 New paper by N. P. Rougier, K. Hinsen, F. Alexandre, T. Arildsen, L. A. Barba, F. C. Benureau, C. T. Brown, P. d Buyl, O. Caglayan, A. P. Davison, M.-A. Delsuc, G. Detorakis, A. K. Diem, D. Drix, P. Enel, B. Girard, O. Guest, M. G. Hall, R. N. Henriques, X. Hinaut, K. S. Jaron, M. Khamassi, A. Klein, T. Manninen, P. Marchesi, D. McGlinn, C. Metzner, O. Petchey, H. E. Plesser, T. Poisot, K. Ram, Y. Ram, E. Roesch, C. Rossant, V. Rostami, A. Shifman, J. Stachelek, M. Stimberg, F. Stollmeier, F. Vaggi, G. Viejo, J. Vitay, A. E. Vostinar, R. Yurchak, and T. Zito: Sustainable computational science: the ReScience initiative in PeerJ Computer Science, 3:e142. DOI 10.7717/peerj-cs.142.
15.08.2017 A post-doc position is available immediately in my group, focused on optimizing NEST for the DEEP-EST modular supercomputing architecture. Please see the full announcement for more information! Application deadline is 15 September 2017.
14.08.2017 We are welcoming the first students to the new Master of Data Science program at NMBU.
14.07.2017 I have joined Nicolas Rougier, Konrad Hinsen and many other colleagues on a report on Sustainable computational science: the ReScience initiative.
01.07.2017 EU high-performace computing project DEEP-EST started; I am leading a task on NEST as a reference application for the DEEP-EST modular supercomputing architecture.
04.04.2017 New paper by Tammo Ippen, Jochen Eppler, Hans Ekkehard Plesser, and Markus Diesmann: Constructing neuronal network models in massively parallel environments in Frontiers in Neuroinformatics 11:30 (2017).
01.03.2017 NEST 2.12.0 is released with lots of improvements.
08.02.2017 New paper by Pablo Martinez-Canada, Christian Morillas, Hans Ekkehard Plesser, Samuel Romero, and Francisco Pelayo: Genetic algorithm for optimization of models of the early stages in the visual system in Neurocomputing, online ahead of print, 2017. DOI 10.1016/j.neucom.2016.08.120.